Newcastle City Council Elects Mayor, Deputy Mayor
Posted on 02/06/2018


The Newcastle City Council elected a mayor and deputy mayor at its Feb. 6 meeting. Welcome new Mayor Allen Dauterman and Deputy Mayor Linda Newing.

Mayor Dauterman was first elected to the City Council in 2015. Prior to that, he was on the Planning Commission from 2010-15, and served as the group's chairman 2014-15. He's lived in Newcastle since 2007. Learn more about Mayor Dauterman here.

Deputy Mayor Linda Newing was also elected to the City Council in 2015. Prior to that she was on the Community Activities Commission from 2013-15, and served as the group's vice chair from 2014-15. She's lived in Newcastle for 15 years. Learn more about Deputy Mayor Newing here.

The mayor and deputy mayor are elected for two-year terms. The City of Newcastle operates in a council-manager form of government. Here's what that means, courtesy of the Association of Washington Cities and the Municipal Research and Services Center:

"All legislative and policymaking powers are vested in the city council. The council employs a professionally-trained public administrator, the city manager, to carry out the policies it develops. The city manager is the head of the administrative branch of city government. By statute, the mayor is selected by the city council from among its members, although this may also be done by election.

The mayor’s responsibilities are primarily to preside at council meetings, and act as head of the city for ceremonial purposes and for purposes of military law. The mayor votes as a councilmember and does not have any veto power (RCW 35.18.190; RCW 35A.13.030-.033 Optional Municipal Code cities)."

City of Newcastle | All Rights Reserved | Powered by CivicLive | © 2019 West Corporation.