Newcastle City Council

Front row (from left), Councilmembers Carol Simpson, Gordon Bisset and Linda Newing
Back row (from left), Councilmembers Dave Mitchell, Tamra Kammin, Tom Magers and Allen Dauterman

Your Newcastle City Council

Each non-partisan councilmember is elected at-large to a four year term. Every two years, the City Council elects a mayor from among its seven members. 

Your elected City Council representatives establish the city's plans and policies during open public meetings held at City Hall. The meetings also are an opportunity for you to participate in local government by communicating directly with the City Council. Members of the public are invited to share thoughts during public hearings or two open public comment periods. Regular meetings of the City Council occur on the first and third Tuesdays of each month at City Hall, starting at 7 p.m. 

The city operates under a council-manager form of government. In this system, all legislative and policymaking powers are vested in the City Council. The council employs a professionally-trained public administrator, the city manager, to carry out the policies it develops. The city manager is the head of the administrative branch of city government.

The mayor is selected by the City Council from among its members. The mayor’s responsibilities are primarily to preside at council meetings, and act as head of the city for ceremonial purposes and for purposes of military law.

Newcastle City Council Meeting Resources

Newcastle City Councilmembers (Click on the name to learn more about each Councilmember)




Allen Dauterman


Linda Newing

Deputy Mayor

Carol Simpson

Position 2

Gordon Bisset

Position 4

Dave Mitchell

Position 5

Tamra Kammin

Position 6

Tom Magers

Position 7

© 2016 City of Newcastle | All Rights Reserved | Powered by CivicLive